Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds accomplished a rare and stupid feat, striking out on one pitch during a game on Thursday.
Credit umpire Ron Teague for the K. Here's how it went down: Catricala took the first pitch he saw from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, and Teague called it a strike. Catricala was unhappy with the call, and stepped out of the batter's box. Teague felt that Catricala was taking his sweet-ass time, and called a second strike. That's a rule, apparently, although it's rarely enforced.
Either Catricala didn't notice or didn't care, because he was still chilling outside the batter's box. A little over nine seconds later, Teague rung Catricala out, Catricala argued, and Teague ejected him. Then the scoreboard played some famous movie clips, and everybody laughed, while Catricala stomped away and presumably asked himself what he did in life to deserve this.
If you look at it in a different light, though, Tropeano earned the easiest strikeout of his career. Nice job, Nick!